New Jersey's Used Car Lemon Law provides protection for consumers who purchase used cars in New Jersey. The law covers only used passenger motor vehicles purchased from licensed used car dealers, requiring them to provide warranties to their customers. The length of these warranties depends on the used vehicle's mileage at the time of sale. If you do not have a qualified used "lemon", breach of warranty (Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act) may be applied. Best way to prove the vehicle is defective is by saving all documentation from repair attempts and discussions with the dealer.
Qualifications for New Jersey Lemon Law Coverage for Used Cars
Must have been purchased from a licensed used car dealer
Sold for more than $3,000
No more than seven (7) model years old
Odometer readings of less than 100,000 miles
Must not have been declared a total loss by an insurance company
Was not sold "as is"
New Jersey's used car lemon law obligates the dealer to correct a defective or malfunctioning part of a used motor vehicle covered by the warranty if the defect took place during the applicable dealer warranty period.
What are you entitled to?:
The buyer may be entitled to a refund of the vehicle's full purchase price if:
the dealer has been unsuccessful at repairing the same material defect after at least three (3) attempts; OR
the vehicle has been out of service at the dealer for repair for at least 20 cumulative days
Note: The Used Car Lemon Law does not apply to extended service contracts or any remaining manufacturer warranties.