Massachusetts's Used Car Lemon Law provides consumer protection for those who purchase used cars in the state of Massachusetts. The law covers both used car dealers and private party sales. Additional protection is available under the Massachusetts Lemon Aid Law. Under this law, a buyer can void the purchase of a motor vehicle if the vehicle fails to pass a state inspection within seven days of the purchase and the failed inspection required repair costs of more than 10% of the vehicle's purchase price to pass inspection. The defects cannot be a result of abusive or negligent operation of the motor vehicle or an accident or damage that occurred after the sale.
If you do not have a qualified used "lemon", breach of warranty (Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act) may be applied. Best way to prove the vehicle is defective is by saving all documentation from repair attempts and discussions with the dealer.
Qualifications for Massachusetts Lemon Law Coverage for Used Cars
Massachusetts's used car lemon law requires dealers to provide an express written warranty to buyers who purchase a used vehicle with fewer than 125,000 miles at a purchase price of $700 or more. The length of these warranties depends on the used vehicle's mileage at the time of sale:
|Miles at Purchase
||Duration of Warranty
|Less than 40,000
||90 days or 3,750 miles
||60 days or 2,500 miles
||30 days or 1,250 miles
If the vehicle experiences the same defect three times during the express warranty period or if the vehicle is in the shop 10 cumulative business days during this period, the consumer is entitled to a full repurchase, minus a mileage offset of $.15/mile.
Private Party Responsibilities:
A private party who sells a consumer a used vehicle must
tell the buyer about any known use or safety defects. If the buyer
discovers a defect which impairs the safety or substantially impairs
the use of the vehicle, and can prove the seller knew about it,
then the buyer can return the vehicle within 30 days of purchase.
Private parties are bound by this law, regardless of the age or
selling price of the vehicle.
Important Note: Motor vehicle inspection stickers are not transferable to a new owner. When you buy a used motor vehicle, you must bring it to a licensed Massachusetts inspection station within seven days of registering it. This is true even if there is an unexpired sticker on
the car. If you bought the car from a dealer, don't have the dealer do the inspection for you. Take the car to an independent inspection
station yourself so that you can be sure you are getting an objective
To find an inspection station in your area, call the state's toll free hotline
at (877) 387-8234, or visit the Enhanced Emissions and Safety Test web
site at www.vehicletest.state.ma.us/